Catching Up, Facing Changes (Sooo many pictures)

It’s been a while since my last post, so I’ll do a quick fast forward through some things that have happened over the last three or so weeks-ish.

Cambodia:

I’m not one for sentimental stuff and I always kinda roll my eyes at people that go to a town for one or two days then spend the rest of their life saying that they “fell in love” with the place or whatever, but… (ah, the golden “but”)…I kinda, maybe, really liked Cambodia. Angkor Wat was pretty much as mind-blowing as I expected, even for someone with my very poor understanding of architectural wonders (luckily, Kelsey was there to serve as our tour guide and explain how ancient Khmer regimes never mastered the flying buttress). I said it at one point during the trip, but it’s worth repeating that the building had a sort of …gravity as we approached it. I felt like it was pulling me towards it. Really incredible. And we watched the sun rise over Angkor Wat at sunrise, which was all the majesty of the intro to The Lion King wrapped into a single image.

NAAAAAAAA SIMENYAAAAA BABAQUICHEINABAH!!

NAAAAAAAA SIMENYAAAAA BABAQUICHEINABAH!!

We also visited Ta Prohm (the temple from Tomb Raider. Really fun) and the Angkor Thom temple complex (which was actually more impressive than Angkor Wat in a lot of ways), along with a flooded village (awesome), Asia’s largest lake (or something. I wasn’t paying attention when someone explained it to me) and the Siem Reap nightlife. I won’t go into exhaustive detail as I want to finish this post, but the Cambodia I experience in my time there was my kind of country. Not only because Cambodian women are gifts from the heavens, but also because Cambodian women are super, really, almost ridiculously good looking. Also, haggling is more fun in Cambodia and the one club/bar/lounge we went to was outstanding. And the women…

Perchin in Ta Prohm.

Perchin in Ta Prohm.

Major temple in Angkor Thom (I forget the name).

Major temple in Angkor Thom (I forget the name).

They build the houses up several stories because the entire town floods during the rainy season and they have to take boats/jetpacks to school

They build the houses up several stories because the entire town floods during the rainy season and they have to take boats/jetpacks to school

Krabi:

This last weekend, I went to Krabi. I’d initially planned to go with people, but then changed my mind and decided to fly solo (read: everyone ditched me #sadface). This was both good and bad for a few different reasons: This was good because I only really wanted to go down there to read books, play guitar and climb rocks. When you travel with other people, though, you gotta play nice and also do some things that they wanna do. This was bad because it was the first time I’d ever traveled alone and I’d gotten used to the experience of doing it with others.

The first day I was there was kind of a bummer.¬† With no one to prod me into being social and being energetic when I got tired, I didn’t really do much other than eat, play guitar and read. The second day, though, I realized that I was getting to do EXACTLY what I wanted. I didn’t really want to go out at night or even make any fulfilling social connections. Realistically, I was only being deprived of about 10 minutes of conversation that I could’ve used, but it was a small price to pay for having complete autonomy and free time. So the second day, I went to climb some rocks, play some guitars, and read some books and it was awesome. Funny story: I finished my climbing day with a 30 meter climb. About 25 meters up, my face was sweaty and my brand new glasses slid off and fell. At the time, I thought they’d only fallen to a rocky outcropping a few feet beneath me, but I later found out they’d fallen aaaaaall the way back to the earth. And they completely survived! Pretty sure I used up all my karma, though.

Pfft. Safety.

“When life gets tough and things get tragic, have a splife it’s ****in MAGIC!” This man was responsible for my safety.

Climbin

Climbin

Krabi is a good lookin' place.

Krabi is a good lookin’ place.

If you look closely, you can see part of the smoke monster.

If you look closely, you can see part of the smoke monster.

End of school:

Last week marked the end of the fall…or spring…or whatever semester of school, which means it was the last time I got to see many of my students. Sad times, yo. On the plus side, I’ll be teaching summer classes the next few weeks so I’ll get to see some of my students a few more times (including one of my favorite classes) and will also get a fresh new batch of seventh graders to destr- …er…teach.

The Phanom Adun glee club. New Directions ain't got nothin on us. The guy on my right is my Finn and the girl on my left is my Rachel Berry. No, they can't sing. None of them can sing even a little bit.

The Phanom Adun glee club. New Directions ain’t got nothin on us. The guy on my right is my Finn and the girl on my left is my Rachel Berry. No, they can’t sing. None of them can sing even a little bit.

My favorite kids from my favorite class.

My favorite kids from my favorite class. Yes, I absolutely have favorites.

"Father and son," my coordinator said as she took this pic. This kid alone was worth six months in Thailand.

“Father and son,” my coordinator said as she took this pic. This kid alone was worth six months in Thailand.

One of my favorite classes. One of my girls presented me with a rose towards the end of class. I was touched.

The three girls in front of me are budding musicians. One of my girls presented me with a rose towards the end of class. I was touched.

EP2 (Eigth grade)! I get two more weeks of these crazies.

EP2 (Eighth grade)! I get two more weeks of these crazies.

That’s enough of that, I imagine. Adam, Amy and Emily have all left Phanomsarakham, so I’m the last bastion of American freedom left in town. I’ll spend the next month teaching, writing, reading, fighting and struggling to learn a bit of Thai before I leave. Talk to yall soon!

Moses

What I’m Reading: A Memory of Light by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson / The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

What I’m Writing: Various songs and The Lincoln Lions (novel) – 40%

What I’m Listening To: The Very Best of Prince by Prince

Leave a Reply

